Friday, March 27, 2009

worn out...

so my spring break is quickly comming to an end...and this is just going to be a quick recap of the past several days.

*apartment searching...oh how this has been fun and interesting!! i have seen several that i really like, and several that i would rather stay far far away from. i have been looking at 2 BR mostly 2 bath apartments all over this area and have found several that fit our wants as well as needs. i am going to see another one tomorrow morning before we leave for chatt. i hope to have a good idea of where i want to be when i leave here on sunday, but we will see how well it goes.

*got an email from the real estate agent that i have been emailing with about moving here and she informed me that there is a new school opening here in murfreesboro and that they are hiring 14 new teachers, HECK YEA, so i called the principal today and left a voicemail with her. needless to say i will be sending up some huge prayer requests and calling this lady back on monday morning during my lunch break!!! also some good news about the whole teaching search, Brett, the youth director at the church where dani works knows the principal at another one of the schools here in the county and has said that he would out in a good word with him for me, so another door seems to be cracked open, so lets pray that something will open up. and still send up some prayers for the job fair later on in april!!

some other quick things---driving down here was awful, the rain was horrible comming down the mountain and being behind trucks was awful!!

got to cut this short.

"let all you do be done with love"

Sunday, March 22, 2009

p.s. i am over half way done with this...

spring break...

i left jackson this morning, only 2 minutes late, 7:02 a.m. i was quite pleased with myself, i even made good time so i stopped by the outlet mall in Lebanon to do some quick shopping, which turned into a hour long stop split between an awesome bookstore and the gap outlet-i only spent like 7 bucks in there too...pretty impressive for me in a gap outlet because usually it's the only place that i can find jeans that fit and they are cheaper...so yay for not spending lots of money there!! then i headed on up to crossivlle and got here just after noon and mama jo and i went out to lunch and then to the outlet "mall" and walked for a little bit, didn't find anything though...and that pretty much leads me to this...i am sitting in my grandmother's front bedroom on her computer...and it feels great! i absolutely love this place up here and took full advantage to a great evening. i spent about an hour and a half in my hammock on the back deck watching the sun slowly set and read harry potter. it is so peaceful up here and i absolutely cannot wait to move towards this area-hopefully in may-

...some plans for spring break
*heading to knoxville/gatilinburg/pigeon forge tomorrow to do some roaming/shopping with mama jo, should be a fun and interesting day!!
*then on tuesday heading to the dear camp for the first time in a while to get some dirt for the wedding, don't ask! then i will probably drop by the cemetery to see Papa, haven't gone by to see him in a LONG time...
*heading to murfreesboro on wednesday morning. i plan on looking at 6-7 different apartment complexes and possibly go talk to some places about summer job opportunities. i was going to go pass out my resume to different schools in rutherford county, but turns out it's their spring break this week as well...but the amazing thing is that they are having a job fair in april that i will actually be able to come to-how awesome is that!
*i get to spend some quality time with danielle towards the end of the week-including going to church with her on wednesday night, excited!
*saturday i get to see 2 more of my favorites when we head to chatt for a wedding shower for jenny, so that's even more exciting.
*somewhere in between all this awesomeness i have to plan some lessons for next week, as well as grade a stack of papers-blah! the wonders of becoming a teacher, spring break isn't really a break with a stack of papers to grade and lesson plans to write, i guess i should get used to it!

so send up some prayers for not only safe travel but also for some doors to open up here in middle tennessee for me and eventually drewby! also send up some for him, he is still sick with bronchitis and still sounds like a sad frog...love you drewby!!

got to go take a shower, then it's off to bed for me, another early morning for me in the a.m.
good night all

"let all you do be done with love"

Friday, March 20, 2009

TGIF&SB!!

so thank goodness it is friday, and thank even more goodness that it's the first day of spring break!!!! my goal for this evening was to get everything cleaned up and washed and organized, but guess what--that didn't happen! but this what has happened...
*drew has bronchitis (however you spell it) so he doesn't feel good and he sounds like a frog. i took him dinner and a milkshake to help him feel better, but i feel so bad because we were going to spend some time together this evening since i am leaving for spring break on sunday morning and since he's sick we can't...
*plus i spent way too much time on the computer...
*we found out that we have been overpaying our rent each month, so we will be able to stay until the end of may so that we don't have to rush and move out like 2 days after graduation!!
*returned the paper that i bought from target...thought it was resume paper, but it wasnt, and i also returned a skirt to ross. then rand into khols and got 2 tank tops to wear underneath stuff, both of which were on sale, bought a green scarf that i have been looking at all season...i know it's spring but on chilly days it will be nice and it will last until next fall/winter, i also got the cutest clutch purse for like 8 bucks, love it!!

now for my to-do list for tomorrow...
...clean up my room
...do laundry
...pack for crossville
...pack for murfreesboro
...pack for camping
...pack for jenny's shower in chat
...work on lesson plans for next week
...clean out my car
...shower
...load my car

i think that's about it...i think i am going to be an old woman and go crawl in bed.
good night.

please keep all the families who are dealing with deaths and illnesses of their little babies.

"let all that you do be done with love."

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

beautiful weather + hammock on the balcony + harry potter = fabulous afternoon

so that was the longest title ever, but it sums up the last hour of my life. this afternoon i came home from school-stressful day, read the day in the life of...blog later to read more about it, but i came home, changed and went for a wonderful walk around. i came back and began the task of hanging my hammock on the balcony rails just outside my front door. after a few minutes it was up-and boy was it great! i even got amanda to sit in it for a while. then came harry potter, oh boy, did that make my afternoon even better, i am not sure what i am going to do without harry potter when i finish this book...i have been reading these books non-stop whenever i can get a minute since christmas break and it has been fabulous!!! anyways, it's tuesday, feels like a monday and i only wish it was friday-spring break starts at 2:30 on friday-THANK GOD!!!

Sunday, March 15, 2009

sunday morning...

good morning to all...i am sitting in drew's parent's kitchen in dyersburg watching the news waiting on drew to get up and get ready to goto church. we have been here all weekend for his dad's birthday. it has been good to see drew's family-even jenny and the boys came up from mississippi. they are on their way to st louis for some meetings that dennis has-so the boys and jenny are going to get to play while he sits in meetings-i am jealous...

oh, drewby and i ordered our save the date cards and those should be in within the next 2 weeks. i am going to work on getting all of these things addressed and sent out within the next month, so i am not going to post a picture on here or the wedding blog so that it will be a surprise when you get one in the mail.

so yet again, this morning i was exploring on different blogs and found several more "baby prayer blogs" through http://www.kellyskornerblog.com/ and it has just made me so much more aware of the battles that these families are fighting every single day. the only thing i can do is pray for each and every one of these situations and hope for peace and understanding.

got to go get ready for church...

Monday, March 9, 2009

hello monday...

is monday really almost over with???

*this weekend, went to memphis and here is a recap of what i got to do!
friday drewby and i headed down there when i got out of class (and out of my visit to my 2nd graders at nova) and we met my parents and went to randavous for dinner. it was the first time that i had ever been to randavous and my dad was great enough to go with us and so we went downtown and ate dinner, then went and walked around downtown with my parents. it was great!! drew and went to the top of the peabody and he got to see the ducks' home for the first time as well as the memphis skyline via the top of the peabody. after dinner the family went back towards home and went to meet up with rachel for ice cream. that's always a great time and we talked about school and harry potter and all sorts of stuff. i miss getting to see her.
saturday was another early morning and mom and i headed out to ballew to meet drew's mom and ginger to look at THE wedding dress again. as soon as i had it on it felt GREAT. so mom and i started the ordering process. we also got to start really looking at bridesmaids dresses. ginger and i even tried on some of them. found one that i like at david's bridal, but i haven't fallen in love with it. so i may go try again in a few weeks and see what i find. after the dress shopping we met up with drew and went to jim and nicks for lunch. they are the ones that are going to cater the rehearsal dinner and their bbq is AMAZING!!! anways, after lunch, drew and i headed back to jackson and met his entire family at tres' house to go out to dinner before an emmaus event. as always, it was a good time with his family.
sunday, sleep, all i have to say is i got to sleep in!! then came the short day filled with lesson plans that just absolutely disappeared. so then sunday came and went and monday showed up!! today was a good day, i got to start teaching. i picked up social studies and it went pretty well today. i have to work on my classroom management skills with these older kids and make sure that they know who is in charge and that i won't take any of their crap. and now, it's raining, i am watching little people big world, just waiting on tuesday to start.

love to all.

"let all you do be done with love." 1 corinthians 16:14

Thursday, March 5, 2009

fed-ex is going to print 25 black and white copies of anyone's resumes for FREE!!!


according to the news, i will look it up later, next tuesday every store is going to be doing this...i will be going over there to do it!!!

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

jumping on the bandwagon...

ok, so yesterday i watched the Oprah show, haven't done that in a while because by the time i get home, get changed and what not the show is almost over with...but i did watch it yesterday and it was all about going back to a simpler life, giving up things you didn't need and not buying things for a week.

so i want to try this not buying things for a week thing...my goal is to not spend money this week. I want to give myself $25 to spend on groceries for things like milk, and bread, and really that's about it, so that could go down...but anyways. i also don't want to go out to eat. i have plenty of food here at my apartment so why go out, it's not worth it!!! i don't want to spend money on anything from today until next tuesday...i can do it!!! i know i can, i just have to keep myself out of situations where i want to buy something. and my goal is to keep track of what i do spend this week and what i spend it on. i do want to keep my "1 coke-type drink reward on fridays" so that will be 1 thing that i buy, but i don't want to eat out, i don't want to goto wal-mart or target, i don't want to go to the mall, i don't' want to spend.

ill keep you posted about how well this goes!!
and i plan on keeping track of what i spend, so yet again, i will probably use this to do that, so be prepared.

Monday, March 2, 2009

lazy snow day...

so today i didn't have school today-snow day. i woke up around 9 and loved every minute of the amazing sleep that i got last night. i am now sitting in the living room, with a nice fire going a fully belly and i am watching the today show...well the part with just hoda and kathy lee and it's sooo funny!!! at the moment they are trying to learn how to play a dijarido (sorry i can't spell) and it's sooooo funny!!!!
oh a heavy heart note, i have been exploring different blogs and the more i explore the more blogs i find about sick little babies. it's so hard to believe that God allows all of these children and their families to hurt and to not know if that child will grow up. i have to keep telling myself that God doesn't make these things happen, he uses these children and their families to be his hands and feet. he uses their stories to show us his love, to show us how he works through the smallest, frailest, youngest, children to show us "big people" his love. to show us to "not sweat the small stuff" and take life as it comes, to love the little things, to not take advantage of a single minute.
these are just a few of the children and families that need sooo many prayers...
i know there are sooo many more families and children out there not only on the blogging networks, but also just out there in the hospitals just fighting for another minute.
send up prayers for each and everyone of these children and their families.
prayer works.
"let all you do be done in love."
1 corinthians 16:14

Sunday, March 1, 2009

highlight reel











SNOW DAY!!!

So as a disclaimer, I do have pictures, but I don't have my connector with me right now, so it will be at least tonight before I can upload them. But here at Drew's apartment we got over 8 inches of snow!! Last night, Drew, Josh and I went and played in the snow in front of the YMCA here in Jackson, we tried to go sledding on some tubes, but the snow was too deep, yes i never knew that snow could be too deep to sled, but it was!! so we resorted to building a HUGE snowman, and when i say HUGE, i mean HUGE!!!! our friend ended up being probably over 8 feet tall and amazing looking. we ended up putting him near the sign for the Y and we went by this morning so i could get a better picture of him and he was GONE, GONE, either the wind knocked him over or someone came by and destroyed him...etiher way i am quite sad!! anyways, we got up this morning and went sledding with truett and some other people and that was sooo much fun!! i am just hoping that school is out for tomorrow...

but, we are trying to order lunch because the boys have NO food at this apartment so i will post later with pictures!!

love you all!