Wednesday, December 31, 2008

my 2008 according to the alphabet

a-apartment-i have my name on a lease for the very first time. now granted amanda is on there with me, along with our parents-our names are on it. we are "on our own" and paying bills to the actual places instead of alpha gam or lambuth, we have our own kitchen and we have to keep track of bills. it's exciting and has been a great learning experience and i absolutely love having "my own space" as well as the kitchen and living with amanda has been great!
b-betrayals-finding out things that certain someones have said and done to betray not only trust, but also the way i see those people. i know that i can't change people and that it's not me, and it's not my choice or responsibility but it just hurts when a person isn't who you thought they were and you find it out through other people and through hearing about their actions...
c-craftopia-the awesomeness that is my and amanda's former dining room. you should come see it sometimes-it's great!
d-drama-the drama will never end. however, being away from the lambuthsphere has helped a great deal. the drama has been down this past semester and nothing like the past spring.
e-engagement-yup i'm ENGAGED and it's awesome. being able to call drew my finance and his parents my future in-laws and being called an aunt is so amazing. the process of planning the wedding has been great, the wedding planners, the photographer, the videographer, the reception venue, everything has gone so smoothly and we have soo much done already it's great! i love being samuel andrew's fiance...
f-facebook-it's even more addicting than before...just so you know.
g-gaining confidence-i have learned so much about myself, i have learned that i can do my best and be recognized for it, i can make good grades, i can be an example, i can enjoy life. i have been able to gain confidence in the classroom that will come in handy starting very soon when i start to student teach.
h-harry potter-yup, i am now addicted, that's all.
i-invited to present my sr. thesis at convocation-yup, i wrote another blog about it, but basically i was chosen to present my sr thesis about no child left behind at the sr. thesis convocation...pretty impressive, only 3 people out of all the students taking sr. seminar get this honor-so it was great, pretty nerve racking but great nonetheless.
j-jax game with hannah and drew-hannah came to visit and it was a great weekend visit. we got to watch juno, we had slumber parties at drew's apartment, we got to goto the diamond jax baseball game, it was just a great weekend.
k-kept up with the blog-mostly this past semester but it has been a release, even if no one really reads it i have be able to vent and express my feelings and ideas and it's been great. probably actually just another distraction to add to facebook, but a release nonetheless...
l-laptop troubles-oh, don't get me started. a laptop that failed in january, a replacement that failed in may, without a laptop all summer, then problems again starting in early october with this laptop...and they still haven't figured out the problems...
m-made dean's list-yup, both semesters. yay for hard work paying off and getting good grades.
n-no regrets-nope, no regrets, i have put my heart and soul into this year and i have no regrets. i laid everything on the table for the summer, i put everything i had into my fall semester, i have no regrets and i am comfortable with saying that...i have no regrets.
o-opened my eyes-so much has happened over the past year to open my eyes to new things, to better things, to greater things, as well as to the fact that not everything is great all the time, my eyes have been opened to the future, the future i have as a teacher, the future i have with drew, just my future in general and i like the thought of it. i can't wait to get into a classroom in just a few short days, i can't wait to graduate, i can't wait to move, i can't wait to get a job and start teaching in my very own classroom, i can't wait to marry my best friend and my soul mate...i have gotten a glimpse into the future and i can't wait to see it all unfold!
p-playing in the snow-jackson actually got quite a bit of snow and it was great. drew and i got to play in a little field across from his apartment and it was great. snow angels, a snowball fight, walking in the snow, and everything-it was great!
q-quiet time in my hammock-one of the best things i have gotten this year was my eno hammock, from the quiet time in the park, to quiet time at camp it's been great!
r-recovery-the worst recovery from knee surgery yet. it was my 3rd surgery and it was by far the worst post-op experience EVER!!!! the pain pill prescription was messed up so the first few days at home were awful, horrible pain and then the physical therapy was grueling, school was so hard with the knee, it was just a long, slow recovery...
s-summer staff-my 3rd year on summer staff, my 3rd year as puf, my 3rd year to try and be the hands and feet of God, my 3rd and final year on staff. the last thing is probably the hardest thing to get a grasp on. i will not be on staff again, i will not live in cabin 9/10 for a whole summer again, i will not have my usual "introduction" at the start of each week, i will not have canteens, it's all in a chapter of my life that is slowly being closed and it's hard. staff this summer was amazing, i have had several "random encounters" with camp kids, including one just the other day in walmart that made me cry...i have made a difference, i have helped campers "feel as though they have been in the presence of GOD" i have been God's hands and feet for my 3rd and final summer on summer staff...
t-trip with mom to north carolina/crossville-an amazing trip with my mom to go see my grandmother, spend some quality time with my mom, and see some amazing friends in north carolina.
u-unemployed-had a workstudy-lost my workstudy, but i guess you could count camp as a job, but it's never about the money with camp, so i don't call it a job-it's a lifestyle...so yea, pretty much without a job all year.
v-voted for president-yup i voted...the end.
w-wedding planning-a fun and exciting-hopefully never stressful-ride that i get to ride with my best friend and mom...
x-x is the 24th letter of the alphabet and 24 is the number of times i have been on facebook today...no not really, i just couldn't come up with anything for x.
y-yearned for a dog-so that was a stretch for y, but it works. lately i have wanted nothing more than a dog. i want the dog who will always sit at my feet, the dog who will protect me and be there, who i can constantly talk to and share ideas and practice lesson plans to...i know that when i move to the nashville area and live on my own i want a dog, i want the security knowing that there is a dog close by who will warn me if need be, i also want that companionship since drew won't be living with me until late november, i want that presence there 24/7 so yea, lately that's all that has been on my mind is getting a dog.
z-oh i can't think of anything for z...so just HAVE HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

stole this from facebook...and really love it

so it looks like will be ringing in the new year at my apartment by myself.
drew and i were supposed to help josh with a lock in at church and drew was going to do the music and i was going to chaperon and help with a worship, but when drewby got so sick we had to cancel. drew clearly doesn't have the energy or singing voice to play music and i am afraid to be around other people because i am afraid that #1 i have it and the symptoms just haven't shown up and i am contagious or #2 my immune system is weaker and if i am around someone that has something it will make me fell worse and #3 the late night will not help either of us out.
so i plan on spending the rest of my evening laying in bed, watching harry potter or working on some craft projects that amanda and i have started...
hope everyone has a happy and SAFE new years!
remember: don't be dumb!

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

new years resolution

so i haven't made a new years resolution in a long time, and i don't think that i have ever actually followed ones that i would make--but this year will be different. i will be getting married in november and i refuse to feel uncomfortable in my dress. when i went to look at dresses with my mom i felt so out of place, i felt so big and awkward around the other brides and it was not a fun experience...i want to loose weight, i want to firm back up, and i want to get healthy. when i go back and try on dresses again-i don't want to be afraid to go stand in front of the mirror in front of other brides-to-be, i want to be comfortable with my arms and stomach and i want to be in a size 8 dress...yes that's my goal, a size 8 dress! now when i tried on dresses there was a size 8 that fit me pretty well-didn't like the dress, but the 8 fit...so i think my dream would be a size 6, but my goal is a size 8.

now, you may ask, how do you expect to reach this goal? well like sooo many other americans i want to work out, and eat right. my plan is to cut back on bread-and what bread i do eat is mostly wheat. cut back on sweets, and virtually cut out cokes, including mt dew-ahhhh. when school starts-and i start STUDENT TEACHING i plan on taking my lunch and taking decently healthy lunches.
the other part of this-the working out part...amanda and i have talked about going to work out in the gym that is at our apartment complex at least a few times a week, but on top of this i want to use the wii that i have...i have the wii, i have wii fit, and now the new addition is the jillian michael's wii game...

with all of these, and with support from mom and drew and amanda i hope to get my goal, and even get my dream...

never thought i would post this, but according to the wii-i weigh 159 today, and i believe my goal weight is 140, so i addition to the weight loss, i want to fit into the size 8 dress by november.

keep me, and all of the others whose new years resolution are to loose weight, in your thoughts and prayers.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Monday, December 29, 2008

prayers please

so last night right as "eagle eye" was ending, drew started saying that he did not feel very good, so i put a pillow in my lap and he put his head down...next thing he's got a fever of 101 something and was shaking uncontrollably...this morning he woke up, still shaking and still had a fever and now his mom is not feeling very good at all and she has a fever...the next thing i know, drew's dad and i are taking the 2 of them to the minor med place in dyersburg...we sat there, in the waiting room for over 2 hours-drew was not a happy camper. once we finally got back there they did strep and flu tests on both of them and both of them have strep...got meds...the dr. even gave me and drew's dad scrips for "when we get it" and we finally got to leave...i have seen drew sick, but he just does not feel good, and a little while ago he woke up and his temp went to 104...but with some meds and cool was rags is back down to right around 100 and he's sleeping again...

please send up some prayers for the 2 of them, and for me, drew's dad, and sister who are all in the house and hope that we don't get sick...

Sunday, December 28, 2008


my new obsession...if you can't tell, it's the Harry Potter book 1-7 set, i ordered it on-line from barnes and noble for our late christmas present from my parents. they know that i have now fallen in love with the movies and the books so she was like, well-if that's what you want, then order them, i didn't really get yall much this year, so now-i will have the whole series of books very very shortly. and hopefully i will be able to make more headway in the later books before i start student teaching soon...

oh and p.s. i have now found the "harry potter puppet pals" thing on youtube and have fallen in love, i get it stuck in my head and enjoy getting in stuck in drew's head

christmas break bulleted blog

*went to contemporary service at church this morning, and it was pretty good, i love singing the more contemporary/"camp" type songs, i don't know if it's because of the "camp" aspect of it, or if it's because they are "newer" or what, but i love singing them. we went with drew's family, including his "sister" jenny and her 2 oldest boys, samuel and jonathan and we all sat together, at one point some taller people came and sat infront of us, so the boys couldn't see the screens to read the words so samuel, the younger of the two boys cam and tried to stand next to me but still couldn't see, so i asked him if he wanted to stand in my chair right next to me, and i could here him singing and it was one of the best things. hearing a little boy-about 4 years old, singing in church, and not just singing to make his mom happy-but he was reading the words and singing them--ahh the joys of little people singing and being happy in church.


*drew and i got the first set of our "fine silverware" or whatever you call it, off of our registry, we also got a cake platter/dome thing that we put on there-his brother and sister-in-law got it for us, we also got a cake pan with lid from his sister that has "from the goldsby family" i guess engraved in it, anyways, i really like it and it will come in handy! we also got to get out all the china that we are getting from drew's side and got to look at it and i still love it as much as i did when we first pulled it out of a box. the draw back is that it's only a place setting for 8. so drew and i looked up the pattern on the internet and tried to find some replacement pieces and we did, so i think that's going to go on a "wish list" for presents from close family.

*this is a picture of it...

*drew and i are planning on heading back to jackson tomorrow around lunch time. we have agreed to help josh with the new years eve lock in at henderson, so we are going to head back so i can get stuff squared away before the lack of sleep lock in that will happen this week.

*i will start student teaching within the next few weeks and it's somewhat intimidating. i don't really know what to expect, i don't know what grade or what teacher, i don't know the students or what exactly i will be expected to do and that's what is so intimidating...so if you think about it--send up some prayers for me please.

safe travels for those traveling home after the holidays, and prayers for newlywed couples, and prayers for those who will be celebrating new years eve-don't be dumb ;)

Thursday, December 25, 2008

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

The Christmas Story

"This is how the birth of Jesus Christ came about: His mother Mary was pledged to be married to Joseph, but before they came together, she was found to be with child through the Holy Spirit. Because Joseph her husband was a righteous man and did not want to expose her to public disgrace, he had in mind to divorce her quietly.
But after he had considered this, an angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, "Joseph son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary home as your wife, because what is conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins."
All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had said through the prophet: "The virgin will be with child and will give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel"—which means, "God with us."
When Joseph woke up, he did what the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took Mary home as his wife. But he had no union with her until she gave birth to a son. And he gave him the name Jesus."
MERRY CHRISTMAS

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

so it's 1:35 in the morning and i am awake...big surprise!

Christmas is getting so close, and I can't wait. I can't wait to spend time with my own family-even though my parents decide to "discuss" things at 2 a.m. right after drew and I just drove back from Jackson. I am excited about going to D-Burg with Drew and his family on the day after...

Drew and I finished up our shopping today and we even started getting some little stuff to decorate with next year, since this time next year we will be married and will have a place of our own to decorate. i will try and post some pictures later own, but no gaurntees...one of my favorite things we got is a rather medium-large wooden cross with some holly and a red bow made out of thin metal on the front, it's awesom and we got it on clearence at Cokesbury for 75% off...i was excited. we also got some tree ornaments all under $2.50 each...AWESOME. and we got some really cute christmas tree figurens as well as santa claus ones that almost look like they are made out of a log or something, all on clearance at old time pottery--i was extremly pleased with our purchases...

tomorrow is another filled day, we are meeting with the wedding planners and planning some things that we were supposed to plan last tuesday, well see how that goes. anyways, i am going to go sleep in my hole now, good night all and it's almost CHRISTMAS

Sunday, December 21, 2008

so this weekend has been great, for the most part, friday danielle and jackie came to visit. we got to just hang out, watch a movie, and play the wii-some good catch up time. then saturday morning we woke up and watched a movie and waited for jenny to get there, oh good times! so we spent most of saturday just hanging out, catching up, talking about upcomming weddings and "big girl" plans, just some good catch up time. saturday afternoon the jackson theatre guild put on "its a wonderful life" at the ned downtown and i had ordered tickets to go see the saturday afternoon show, it was pretty decent-packed house, but pretty good, i was impressed. after the play it was time to say good bye and that was sad...
drew and i drove to memphis to surprise hannah and the rest of the murry clan at zoo lights, where they had a party room rented. it was the first time that we had been to zoo lights and it was a whole bunch of fun!! we went on a horse drawn carriage ride with hannah around the zoo and then we got to go play in the petting zoo and petted a goat, a donkey, and a lamb--it was AMAZING. i got to see Santa and decorate a cookie--THANKS MURRY CLAN!!
and now comes sunday...lazy sunday afternoon and that's all i am going to say about it because my not so good part of the weekend was at church, where it shouldn't be, but apprently i was wearing an invisivbility cloak-notice the HP reference :)

well dinner is ready...

Thursday, December 18, 2008

to-do list

-finish packing up my stuff
-shower
-load the car
-goto the UMW circle thing tonight with mother
-drive to jackson
-unpack
-clean
-hang out with girls friday night/saturday
-going to "It's a Wonderful Life" with jack, jen, and dani
-packing up again
-going to memphis-again

so this is what i am planning on doing between now and saturday evening...wahoo!!!

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

got my grades in the mail today...and i am quite frustrated...my goal this semester was a 4.0...it would have been my first one of my college career and i really wanted to end my undergrad classes with a great GPA, well so much for that. i made 4 A+'s, 2 A's and a freakin C. I hate math with a passion and that's the class i made a C in, it was Math for Teachers and i feel no more prepared to teach math after that class then i originally was...STUPID STUPID STUPID class...I didn't learn much of anything and all the class did was bring my gpa down. not very happy. don't get me wrong, i am happy with my 6 A's but it's just frustrating to work soooo hard for a semester and one pointless useless class brings my gpa down. i even made an A in sr. seminar....UGH just frustrated.

i will stop complaining now...

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

SO EXCITED

179 on the PLT!!!
for those of you who are not edcuational test savy...the possible score for this test is 100-200, so a 179 isn't half bad...the average score was 160something-180something...so, yea, go me!
2 PRAXIS tests down, 2 to go, January something will-hopefully-be the last day for me...
so i guess it might be a little late for this post...but for those of you who are planning on doing on-line shopping for all the christmas gifts, i have an idea. how would you like to donate to a charity without spending any extra money?
personally i have been using goodsearch.com as my search engine for the last year or so and the goodsearch company sent camp a check for over $300, all from people searching with goodsearch. everytime you search for something-anything-the company will donate a penny to the charity that you choose-if it has an account set up-and these pennies add up!!!
now, they have this huge bank of on-line stores and companies that have partnered with goodsearch and when you order on-line through these companies they will then donate a certain percentage of your purchase to the charity you have put in your goodsearch bar.

anyways, this is kind of confusing, but it all boils down to FREE MONEY for Lakeshore...without goodsearch camp would not have gotten the check that will help send some kids to camp and these kids might not have the opportunity to "be in the presence of GOD". i hope everyone has a wonderful christmas season and remember this when you buy things online!

Monday, December 15, 2008

playing

so i have been working on christmas presents, and editing pictures to put on a digital picture frame for my grandmother for christmas...and then i just kept playing, so here are some of the pictures for your enjoyment...
















and i have decided that picnik is possibly the best thing since sliced bread...and i love bread!

happy girl

so i have decided that my life is just fabulous right now...
-i have the best 2 maids of honor, and am working on projects for my other bridesmaids-to be announced soon, some sooner than later. ;)
-wedding plannign tomorrow *fingers crossed about weather* and drew is in town for it, talking to DJ, as well as cake tasting, and i think a meeting with a caterer as well as flowers and deco stuff--sooooo exctied!
-Christmas is soooo soon!
-i am student teaching in just a few short weeks, Nova and then JCT-nervous but super excited!
-jackie just called me and asked me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding...so the first wedding that i am in-besides being a flower girl when i was little, is going to be just a few months before my own wedding. SO EXCITING!!!!!
-working on christmas presents for people, and it makes me happy...
-girls day this saturday, and i am SOOOOO excited about it!!

Sunday, December 14, 2008

so i am a total dork!

so, i will admit, i am a dork. i absolutely LOVE the show Survivor...I have watched every single season since the start, i have loved the winners, i have hated winners. this has been no different with this just now completed season of Survivor taped in Africa...Bob, the 50-something year old physics teacher from Maine just won 1 million dollars and I could not be any happier. i am not sure why i fell in love with Bob from the start, i didn't like his connection to Corrine but other than that I have loved the way he played the game, i loved watching him get to read letters from his family, and then see his wife, and the way he has played...but mostly, i think i have fallen in love with him because he reminds me of my grandfather-my Papa...being resourceful, being a strategic player, a family man, he even looks like Papa, he works hard to get things done, he uses what is around him, and that is a mirror of my Papa.

Papa-i miss you, but i have gotten to get a glimpse of you, and how i believe you would have played this game...LOVE YOU!!

Congrats Bob, winner of Surivor: Gabon, Earth's Last Eden.
so church this morning was pretty good...we had an entertaining conversation with diana and rachael about diana eating so much for breakfast... there was a new order of worship, although i didn't really like it, confusing and made the service very long... and the sermon was AMAZING, however, i think it's one that many people would be like, i've heard this before, blah blah blah, but it's one of my favorite "Bible concepts" about being the light of the world and the body of Christ, but yet Dr. Gabriel kind of tweaked it to where he was talking about how we aren't the actual light, but we are the reflectors that God has placed her to reflect his light that he gives to the world. oh, funny story at beginning of his sermon, basically a lady teaches little kid sunday school and she asked them what would get them into Heaven, asked if being nice would-kids responded No, asked if having lots of money would-kids responded No, and so on, and then the teacher asked them what they had to do, on little kid raised his had and said "you have to be dead". i love this story, and it's true, in order to get to Heaven, you have to be dead-among a few other factors, like BELIEVING IN GOD and having the Faith, but anyways, it just reminds me that when it is time for us to walk into Heaven and finally "sit at the right hand of God the Father Almighty..." we will be dead, there is nothing else we can do, there is nothing else we can "gain" there is nothing else, but perfection and eternal life. our life here on earth is a great one, and personally i know that i am truly blessed with all that i have and when i die, there will be nothing left but to go "party in heaven" and i can't wait. but that doesn't mean that i shouldn't live life here on earth. we are given one chance to live on this earth, to live life, to be the hands and feet of God, to experience all that he has blessed each of us with and he shows that love by sending Jesus, and in just a few days we will celebrate the symbolic nature of his birth.

anyways, i am off to watch Kung Fu Panda and take a nap...ah, the joys of sunday afternoon naps.
love to all and...

only 11 days until CHRISTMAS


oh, and p.s. check the wedding blog for updates on wedding party announcements ;)

Friday, December 12, 2008

to-do list

-pack to go to memphis...
-shower
-go pay my tuition for next semester
-do dishes, put away dishes
-pick up living room
-pick up bathroom
-load the car, with clothes, and cricut for mom
-un-plug things
-drive...blah!

so i am going "home" for a few days...but then back to jackson for girls weekend next weekend, so freakin excited about some girl time with jen, jack, and dani...wish it could come sooner. but before that fun weekend, we have melting pot dinner tomorrow night...;) it should be a good evening with my parents, drewby, manda, and dani--can't wait for melting pot with some of my favorite people.

love you all and safe travel for those traveling, and those who are still working on finishing up the semester, good luck!
*note to self: do not buy closet maid stuff again...amanda bought 2 different pieces of the closet organizer stuff to use as storage in our craftopia...a.k.a. our dining room that is now where we have all of our scrapbooking/craft supplies as well as space to work...anyways, back to the negativity about the closet maid stuff, first of all the first box we got had a broken piece, as well as a broken piece...had to take it back, then while amanda was at work, drew put together the 1 section that we had in the apartment while the second set was in amanda's car...and he put a piece on wrong and a corner split...then i put together the 2nd set when amanda got home and it was awful, for some reason it is not level, it could be the floor but i really think it's the piece...anyways, it's crap and i won't buy it again...

*so i mentioned craftopia before and it is coming along, i should have taken a before picture, but i didn't so i will just post "after" pictures when we get completely done, including wall art--get excited about that.

*i am heading home to memphis tomorrow for a few days, not sure exactly how long, mainly because it doesn't feel like home...like i have to pack up clothes and what not and i just don't want to pack and carry a whole bunch of stuff to go to memphis and stay...we will see how upset that makes mom, but i will be there until at least next wednesday...

*we are going to Melting Pot on saturday for my birthday dinner--super excited about that, Dani and Amanda are coming with us this year so that should be fun!

*planning on having a wedding planning day next week with the girls, i think michelle is making appointments to meet with caters and possibly a DJ and to start talking about decor...ill explain on the other blog later on...

*waiting to find out my grades from the semester...fingers crossed about a good grade in math...but we will have to see...

I am going to go back to working on organizing craftopia with amanda...a.k.a. keeping amanda focused.

good night all.

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

ok, so i have decided...that if there is rain in the forecast for overnight-into the morning that there must be some other noise going on...this morning...i slept in until 11...because everytime i woke up, i heard the rain, and turned over-snuggled back under my quilt-and went back to sleep...and i can't do that forever...

anyway, no point to this, just LOVE sleeping when i can hear the rain outside...

Monday, December 8, 2008

evolution vs. i.d.

ok, so i am watching 17 kids and counting and they went to a creation museum and the dad was talking about how evolution DID NOT happen...and i sort of agree, like don't get me wrong, i totally believe that GOD created us, GOD created everything, but i also do believe that there is some evolution things change and evolve according to nature and according to surroundings...like i totally believe in the Creation story of Genesis and I totally agree with that, but as humans, we have evolved we have changed, Darwin's theory of evolution...that we must evolve to survive, i do agree with that. i don't agree with a lot of the beliefs of fundamentalists, or staunch believers...God put us here to take care of his creation, take care of his earth, he gave us freedom, he gave us choice--but with that choice come consequences and with these choices come sin and non-sin, there's nothing more to it, as a free person, that God created, we have the choice everyday to sin or not-sin...i do believe that God has a plan for each of us, i do believe that God knows what will happen, i do believe that we "fall short of the glory of God" but i also believe that we grow from these falls, we are picked up by God, we are still his CHILDREN...i don't agree with the staunch believers that take every word of the Bible as literal directions today, i don't believe that is how God wanted his Children to work, because how can you be His hands and feet when you do not experience the world...how can you be a witness to the tax collectors and lepers without living among them...

ok, i am sorry about this post...i just wanted to get that off my chest and if you don't agree then tell me, i know that not everyone is going to agree...but anyways, oh, and sorry that it's kind of random...
love.

quick one...

*i have a final at 9:30 that i am soooo NOT ready for...
*finally got to watch the Amazing Race finale last night, online at like 11:30, ok with the outcome, kind of wanted Ken and Tina to win, but happy that Nick and Star won...
*wish i could have done the zip line that they did in the above mentioned show...
*construction of craftopia will begin today...HECK YEAH!!!
*17 days until CHRISTMAS
*planning on another wedding planning marathon day for next week, the girls, a.k.a. our wedding planners, are working on getting a day of planning stuff, tasting cateres, tasting cakes, talking to videographers, talking to DJs, etc...kind of exctied...
*beginning to think about how i am going to ask my bridesmaids/MOH to be a part of our special day...any ideas?
*Melting Pot for dinner on Saturday night for my birthday...
*knitting is getting frustrating...
*i believe i am officially addicted to Harry Potter...couldn't put it down last night...
Ok, i have to go get ready to take this final...send up a few prayers for me...please.

Sunday, December 7, 2008

Shine...

"Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life—in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing."
So i was thinking back to the summer and one of the songs that Matt introduced was Shine by Matt Redman...the verse above is where the song is based and i absolutly love it. Just wanted to share...
i hate feeling like crap....
...my ears hurt and are stopped up
...my throat hurts
BLAH!!
k, i am done complaining...so last night i got in the "i want to knit again" mood so amanda let me borrow some knitting needles she had and then i went to wal-mart to get some yarn...got back and sat on my bed and got very very very frustrated. i know how to do the first stuff, the casting on and the first row and then getting all the first row done and switched to the other needle but then when i try to move the 1st knot thing i can't get it to work...
anyways...i am going to work on my assessment powerpoint and elementary methods study guide, this should be fun.
love.

Saturday, December 6, 2008

must be productive...

*so i told drew that saturday would be reserved for recovery time from formal...and boy was i right. it was one of the most entertaining formals in a while, granted there have been formals where my lovely sisters and their dates have provided much entertainment...anyways, it was fun, i had a great birthday, and this semester is soooo close to being over with-thank GOD!!
*i am sitting on my bed watching Independence Day and cleaning out my notebook and organizing my education notes...and it's bittersweet, i have 2 file boxes full of class notes, handouts, and articles that i really need to go through and get rid of some of the old stuff and repeated stuff...but i think right now i am just going to leave all of the papers in there...
*i think i am getting pretty close to officially picking my MOH and bridesmaids for the wedding, clearly i am not going to post on here who i have chosen until i actually get to ask each of them, but when i do, i will post it-promise.
*i really can't wait for this time next year, i will be married...married, i still can't believe it, and i am soo excited! decorating for Christmas and celebrating the holidays in our own ways, it will be fabulous. i just hope and pray that drew and i both can find, good, stable jobs.
*i really really need to start and finish the study guide for my elementary methods final that i have on monday...we will see how that goes

i will, eventually, post some pictures from formal last night...and then from my birthday dinner at melting pot this coming saturday night!

love you all.

p.s. getting ready to re-read Steve Harper's Talking in the Dark and this is a quote from the introduction.
"Life doesn't make sense. No matter how hard we try to make it so, it doesn't. No matter how much we want everything to turn out okay, it doesn't always. Bad things happen to good people, and good things happen to bad people. That's the way it is. If we are religious, prayer gets mixed into the mystery and the frustration of that reality. Sometimes we can't tell what difference prayer is making. Even though we pray, life falls short of our sense of justice and cry for mercy."
This quote describes how i fell a good part of the time...but throughout his book he responds and creates a thought that i only wish i could follow 100% of the time...

Friday, December 5, 2008

I want to make these...


I first tasted these two years ago at a Christmas party and immediately had to have the recipe. It's based on a mix, but I imagine you can follow the same directions substituting from scratch cake and frosting (I'll try that one day). You can also try it with other cake combinations.


1 box red velvet cake mix (cook as directed on box for 13 X 9 cake)
1 can cream cheese frosting (16 oz.)
1 package chocolate bark (regular or white chocolate)wax paper



1. After cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into large bowl.
2. Mix thoroughly with 1 can cream cheese frosting. (It may be easier to use fingers to mix together, but be warned it will get messy.)
3. Roll mixture into quarter size balls and lay on cookie sheet. (Should make 45-50. You can get even more if you use a mini ice cream scooper, but I like to hand roll them.)
4. Chill for several hours. (You can speed this up by putting in the freezer.)
5. Melt chocolate in microwave per directions on package.
6. Roll balls in chocolate and lay on wax paper until firm. (Use a spoon to dip and roll in chocolate and then tap off extra.)



I also only melt a few pieces of chocolate bark at a time because it starts to cool and thicken. It's easier to work with when it's hot.Want to see how good they look in white chocolate?

Thursday, December 4, 2008

so i still get this icky feeling when i get left out of things...i don't know if it is because i am in a steady relationship, or that i have never "invited myself over" or what...it's just frustrating listening to things going on around me that i don't even get an invite to...and i know that i shouldn't let it bother me and i know that it's not the first time, so i should be used to it, but it's still hard to be left out...i guess part of it is my fault for not putting myself out there and not "forcing" myself into these situations but i almost think that it works both ways, i have to be open but people but also must be willing to just invite and open up...just ask. maybe it's because i have always been a fan of the shadows and not being the center of attention or that i have never been comfortable "flirting" with boys, or up to talking "girly" stuff with other girls...i don't know....i also feel like since i have gone inactive that i have even begun to lose what connections i still have with many of the alpha gams...and that breaks my heart. i mean i have never had extremely close bonds with many of my sisters and i love them all dearly and i believe that if i needed something than each would be there for me and each would do what she could to help, but i just feel the distance and i understand that i am getting soooo close to opening another chapter of my life and my life will change in less than a year...graduating, teaching, and getting married...it's insane it's just hard thinking that if i feel this lonely feeling now, what will it feel like when drew and i are together, but that's it. i have heard so many young couples talk about how upsetting it is when their friends stop inviting, and stop wanting to hang out after the wedding...and not that many want to hang out now, it's just kind of sad thinking that it could get a little "worse" later on...i dont know. i love drew with all my heart and can't wait to start a new chapter of my life with him but it's also intimidating too...

anyways, i am going to stop sounding depressed and stop whining and go work on a study guide for a final i have on monday...
love.
...it's almost my birthday...

thursday...

*so drew and i went out last night for dinner and dessert...for my birthday! it was fabulous, we went to get sushi and it was fabulous, and then we went to sonic for dessert, even better. i love him, and i can't wait to be his wife...
*finished The Giver last night...still one of my favorite books of all time...just love it!
*started reading the 1st Harry Potter book last night, yes i know i am a little behind on the whole trend, but i just now recently wanted to jump on the bandwagon after seeing the movies. they are fabulous!!
*soooo close to being done with my undergrad "class" career...i have 2 finals on friday, one of them really just being a class discussion with breakfast, then my 2nd one being a math final--hell on earth, the class that is going to keep me from getting a 4.0 this semester...UGH i hate math. anyways, then i have a final on monday, which shouldn't be that bad, then monday night i have my assessment case study presentation--which i am almost done with right now...sooo close. then tuesday i have one presentation as a final, really it's just presenting a "lesson plan" to the class, no big deal! and then i am officially done with undergrad stuff except for student teaching.
*so i'm watching rachel ray and she is def. talking about doggie braces...what in the world.....braces for dogs, no way!! $2000 for braces for a dog--hahahaha
*amanda, my roommate, bought a popcorn tin at wal-mart yesterday...oh how i love those things....but i was getting some last night and it got me thinking about the size of the tin, they are def. smaller than when i was little...the tins are much much smaller and that makes me sad...


my to-do list for today:
-go find driver's license place and get new dl
-shower
-shoes for formal ;)
-return stuff to target and wal-mart
-go order pictures...
-finish powerpoint case study presentation
-clean out car
-work on organizing our "craft room"
-elem. mthds final study guide

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

what i have done today...

*slept in...until 10:35.
*gave a presentation...
*finished tutoring with a post-test and a "party"...
*rode to Tres' house with drew...
*went to wal-mart and got more christmas lights...
*laid in bed and then took a nap...
*went to class...
*watched more t.v....
*decorated the door to our apartment...
*attempted to make frozen coffee treats, thanks mom...
...and now i am laying in bed about to goto sleep...

not that anyone actually wanted to see what i have done with my day, but i wanted to post about something and there really isn't much going on, my semester is almost over with and things are pretty good right now.

oh, and i got the new Chronicles movie today and i can't wait to watch it, just not tonight, sleep sounds better.

love you all!

tree climbing

so...a few weeks ago Troy went to Nebraska to get trained on this tree climbing thing that he and allison did on their honeymood in california. like you throw a rope in a tree--a special way of course--and then use knots and some other equipment and you climb...you climb up and then you can go side to side and other stuff. he talked about it all summer long and we would talk about how cool it was and how he was going to get trained on it...let's not say how jealous i was...anyways, i found the place where he got trained and here are some pictures from the website. i don't remember the specific url for the place any more but just look up tree climbing and look around-if you are interested...anyways, here are some pictures.

Monday, December 1, 2008

Drew and i are continuing our marathon of the Harry Potter movies with this one...and i do have to say that i have become addicted and my next step is to read the books...However, i will get to the point of my post, so if you had read my previous posts, i have been doing a whole bunch of research on No Child Left Behind...and we are watching the movie and i keep seeing similarities of no child and what is happening at hogwarts. drew made fun of me because i got excited about the comparisons...but it's true. the taking over of a school, the standards, the new leadership, etc...

anyways--we are going to keep watching the movie, and i am going to continue to work on my presentation for tomorrow.

...so i've been asked/then selected to present my sr. thesis tomorrow at the sr. thesis convocation...long story, but it all happened this morning and i have mixed emotions about it, but i will get over them.

keep me in your prayers please!
oh, and p.s. only 25 days until CHRISTMAS!!!!

bulleted blog

*back in jackson and ready to finish out this semester...the last semester with a full schedule of undergrad classes-holy cow!!! next semester i will be student teaching and then i will have 1 class that is a 1 night a week, student teaching seminar...CRAZY!!
*drew has gotten me hooked on the Harry Potter movies and i stole my mom's copies of the first 2 books to hopefully start reading them in the next few weeks. this shouldn't be a problem since i am practically done with all school work for the semester...
*i am re-reading The Giver for like the 20th time and i still love it!!!
*not too happy about the final 3 groups on amazing race...wish the mom and son team had made it...but oh well, that's what you get for leaving your money and passports in a taxi...
*my mom has been on this diet for like 2 months--it's a form of weight watchers and she has lost like 25 lbs and looks great...and she doesn't eat bread as well as some other things, well i am going to try the first step of that this week, the no bread step...we will see how that goes. she says that i can still have whole wheat pasta and brown rice, but no bread, or tortillas or anything like that--huge step for me, i am addicted to bread.
*we have formal on friday night...it's also my 22nd birthday, gosh i feel like i am getting old...
*i should really take note of this quote...
People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they're not on your road doesn't mean they've gotten lost. ~H. Jackson Browne
hitting the sack now...good night all.