so a disclaimer...if you get offended easily, don't continue to read.
ok, so drew and i are sitting here watching the news and they are talking about the obama girls and some other little girls who have started a fan club-cute, i know-and the girls mom was talking and was saying stuff like "...it's great for african americans..." and "...it's good for african american girls to have role models..." and stuff like that and drew and i talked about how unless you have duel citizenship for both america and africa, you really aren't african american...i know that people use the term to be politically correct and all but if you really think about it it's not that accurate. most people that are considered "african american" have never even been to africa let alone have duel citizenship. by no means am i saying anything derogatory or am i meaning to be disrespectful but its quite frustrating sometimes.
to sum this all up WE ARE ALL AMERICANS! and that's it, we talk about wanting to be a "United Nation" and to bring this change and get rid of the barriers that divide us, but when you call yourself out as a ------ American (whatever you might want to call yourself, African American, Chineese American, Australian American, whatever) a barrier is not taken down, but built. to quote the pledge (which i know some people will rebut with "well black people were slaves when this was written"-but come on people we live in the year 2009, stop being stupid) "one nation, under GOD"
now you may ask, what do i think "african americans" should be called...and my response is this, all people-from whatever background-whatever color-whatever religious background-whatever socioeconomic status-whatever age-whatever sex-whatever...we are all AMERICANS.
the end.
McRib.
No comments:
Post a Comment