Sunday, January 6, 2008

lazy days...

so today has been a long day...church this morning, lunch and football, nap, figuring out dinner plans with mom, watching american gladiators, cleaning my room...and as i think back to church this morning i realize how much i really do like our new preacher and i almost wish i could drive home every sunday to hear him...and i think when my knee gets to where i can drive-and drive all the way home-i might actually come home to goto church. i also like the idea of being back at home for Sunday morning cause i know i will be the only "college kid" home at church and maybe that would allow for a better church "experience" i know that sounds horrible but today in church i felt like we were sitting in front of the peanut gallery. i don't want to sound like i am better than anyone else because i am not and it's my fault for letting it get in the way of my worship time with God but when it gets to the point that it was today its just so frustrating. i understand that there's always going to be a time where you just need to whisper a comment or question but when it gets to a certain point its time to write it down or wait until after church...come on people we're in college, you have been raised in a church...you should know how to and how not to act during church. i admit i made a few comments to drew today, but i don't feel that they disrupted my time with God, or anyone around me...the comments were between drew and i, not the entire group around us. its the whole thing of respect that bothers me, i hate it when people don't respect themselves, or don't respect others, or even worse, don't respect God...it just bothers me. yet again i know that i am not perfect, nor am i even near that in any way...i just feel that it's not rocket science, especially when you have grown up in a church setting where you should at least know how to act even if you don't intend to get anything out of it...i know people aren't perfect, i know there is always going to be that time where it's just necessary to make a comment or what not but don't do it to the point where it disturbs the people around you, it's like a movie when you turn your cell phone off and you don't talk, or a play...it's church people, come on...



and on a side note...if you don't know, coach cal (u of m bball coach) goes to my church and as i lie in bed and watch the news they just did an interview with him and it's so cool to be able to see someone who is known nation wide, with a job like his in church with his family and there because he wants to be, he could be at one of the huge methodist churches in town but instead he is at mullins with his family like a normal husband and father...

No comments: